Posted in Books

Top Ten Tuesday: Most Anticipated Releases of the Second Half of 2019

HA! I’m drafting this bish on a Monday NIGHT! NOW who’s caught unawares, Top Ten Tuesday!?

I didn’t think I WAS excited about the latter half of 2019 until I reviewed its upcoming releases.

It feels wrong to anticipate new books when I’m watching the pile of unread books on my floor grow by the day.

Oh well.

 

Wayward Son by Rainbow Rowell

Wayward Son

From the description, it sounds like Simon suffers from depression and PTSD after the events of Carry On.

I don’t blame him.

Baz and Penny try to cheer Simon up…with a road trip.

Yeah, okay, good luck.

 

Call Down the Hawk by Maggie Stiefvater

Call Down the Hawk

RONAN LYNCH RETURNS IN HIS VERY OWN TRILOGY…SORT OF.

I DO think the promise of a “Ronan-centered trilogy” was somewhat undercut by the introduction of two new POV characters…

Qualms, I have them.

 

All the Better Part of Me by Molly Ringle

All the Better Part of Me

Something something bi male protagonist something something Pacific Northwest something Seattle.

The cover is a bi flag with male silhouettes.

HELLO.

 

Rebel Girls by Elizabeth Keenan

Rebel Girls

My favorite YA books are the ones with bands of angry girls.

Burn down the barber shops. Riots not diets.

When news of the Alabama abortion bans hit, Elizabeth Keenan took the time to say, “THIS IS ACTUALLY WHAT MY NEW BOOK IS ABOUT.”

Goodness, the protag’s name is Athena. I HAVE to read this.

 

The Babysitters Coven by Kate Williams

Baby Sitters Coven

Girls form a small business, protect the innocent, and save the world.

Circle back around to ESME STARTING A SMALL BUSINESS, BECOMING HER OWN BOSS, AND HIRING HER FRIENDS TO AVOID TRADITIONAL EMPLOYMENT.

YES. ABSOLUTELY.

(Unrelated: publishing is really killing it with these denim jacket covers.)

 

Crier’s War by Nina Varela

Crier's War

I refuse to mangle this book’s description again.

Just know I’m excited for it.

 

Tarnished Are the Stars by Rosiee Thor

Tarnished

Look at this description:

The Lunar Chronicles meets Rook in this queer #OwnVoices science-fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sharon Cameron.

This seems relevant to my interests.

I’m a little annoyed by the term “science-fantasy,” but it’s FINE.

 

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill by Abbi Waxman

Bookiish Lfe of NIna Hill

An introvert is forced to bond with newfound family members.

This sounds a bit like the adult version of Geek Girl.

The character is a redhead? Here for it.

 

This is How You Lose the Time War by Amal El-Mohtar

How You Lose the Time War

AAAAAAGH I could be setting myself up for failure again, but this book has:

  1. War
  2. Letters…?
  3. Weird birds
  4. Love
  5. Time travel

PLEASE don’t let me down, book.

 

Wilder Girls by Rory Power

Wilder Girls

I arrived when I heard “queer girls” and “fake science.”

HOW DID YOU KNOW THOSE ARE MY TWO FAVORITE THINGS???

img_1107

Let me know about your high, high book hopes for the rest of 2019.

And PLEASE alert me to any upcoming books with weird birds, fake science, and/or babysitters.

Author:

She/her. 4w3. Lover of vegan cream cheese and performative angst. Seattle-based writer currently dabbling in socialism and progressive Christianity. I love to call out, complain, overreact, analyze, and reimagine. This site contains the fruit of that labor.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s